Loquo.com and Annoying Un-targeted Java Adverts. How to stop it!

14 06 2010

HOW TO STOP THE ANNOYING ADVERTS ON LOQUO.COM

It might only be me. Are you finding Loquo.com a lot more annoying with their roll-over adverts? I am.

PROBLEM AND OUTLINE WITH LOQUO’S AGGRESSIVE ADVERT STRATEGY.

The guys have to make money! Sure. However the adverts on their site are NOT TARGETED, NOT RELEVANT and NOT CONTEXT SENSITIVE. Wow… that’s kinda like the 3 p’s of marketing you learn at high school, right product, right time, right place.

Solution for them!

I would say place more adsense on your site and use banners with keywords associated to the text.

Bad Examples on Loquo.com with Advertising

Example 1: If I’m searching for a new PC for example in the second hand IT section, show some great offer around the same price tag! I’m seeing adverts for airlines and phones. That’s NOT what I was looking for!

If they displayed an advert from CEX with a great offer based on my search…. hey presto, click-throughs, conversions and happy surfers! Your advertiser will love you! If you’re just burning impressions, well I’d use a similar tactic. PCCITY… MEDIAMARKT… they’d LOVE THIS!

Example 2: I’m searching for some language tuition in intercambio. Hey presto… up comes a cheap flight by Vueling or some Orange Tariff. Why are you bombarding me? Give me an advert from FNAC on language books or something.

I’m reading something interesting and then I have to click OFF again, then I accidently roll over and have to repeat the process.

SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM: HOW TO STOP THE ANNOYING ADS

IF YOU WANT OUT OF UN-TARGETED ADVERTISING ON LOQUO.COM USE MOZILLA OR CHROME!

MOZILLA SOLUTION TO BLOCK ANNOYING ADVERTS

2 solutions, use NOSCRIPT plug in for their site using mozilla add-on. This blocks java and flash with Mozilla and you can specify the sites you wish to use it for! It won’t work for other browsers.

Result: No more annoying ads! YAY!  You can use it for any site you wish and keep it on the ones you trust!

CHROME SOLUTION TO BLOCK ANNOYING ADVERTS

If you’re using Chrome its even easier.

1. Goto options button

2. Under privacy, select content settings

3. Under Java and Plug-ins you need to do the same thing

– click exceptions then click add. Type in the name of the site http://www.X.com

– select tab action [its defaulted to allow] and then press block

Click out and try the site again. If no success,  quit the browser and retry!

CONCLUSION

I love Loquo. However, I personally find the experience a lot more frustrating than previous versions! I now use NOSCRIPT or Chrome block as I’m left with no option.

Win my trust and I’ll click on your ads. Give me a jumpy ride and I either have to put in my own seat and take control or stop using your site. As it stands, its far TOO aggressive and ruins my experience of their site! NOSCRIPT and Chrome it is! I like your site loquo, but make me a happy punter please!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

